Back Breaking Masterpieces

After quite some time, I decided it was time to indulge in another detailed cityscape. This painting was actually started several years ago, the two buildings had been blocked in, the larger main building I just had to do with copper metallic as the base. With little room to work with at the time, I attempted to paint this painting in my bedroom with little to no space to work and consequently I broke not one but two toes bumping into furniture. So I shelved the painting until I could create new studio space. Several months ago I rolled up my sleeves and dug in to complete “Portfolio Review”.

Portfolio Review – 48″ X 36″ X 1.6″

PORTFOLIO REVIEW  48" X 36" X 1.7

PORTFOLIO REVIEW
48″ X 36″ X 1.7

In the past when I have worked on large detailed paintings, I would also work on one or two abstracts as I took breaks from the realism. This would help clear the tightness I would get from focus, strain, and discipline of keeping to task.

This time I worked endlessly to complete this painting every moment I could give to completing it. When you are dealing with perspective, you have to check and recheck lines and sometimes correct whole areas which can set you back hours. Often I end up painting, not with an easel, but laying the painting flat on a table and actually turning it every which way while I work on details. You would be surprized at how this helps keep your perspective in tact.

The center area, which is the most detailed, is also the most back-breaking to paint. You have to have it sitting on easel, and you have to lean in on it putting your back in tension the whole time. With that said one day after I completed this painting my back when completely out for almost two weeks. My sciatica was pinched and the ONLY thing I could do was lay flat on my back icing and heating. Never again will I attempt to paint another masterpiece realism without throwing in a few abstracts in between.

Detail of center of "Portfolio Review" painting.

Detail of center of “Portfolio Review” painting.

Detail of men in doorway in the building on the left.

Detail of men in doorway in the building on the left.

This painting is 48″ X 36″ and is painted in acrylic and metallic. The middle building bursts out of the painting with a wonderfully reflective use of copper metallic paint as the brick and mortar. I could have easily spent another week on this building allown, however, I’d probably still be in traction if I did.

Detail mid right of painting.

Detail mid right of painting.

With all that said… This is a painting of a photo a friend of mine took and allowed me the use of it to paint. I just loved the challenge of perspective, and all of the different elements I would have to create. Horses are amazing animals and are stunning when painted correctly. They are also one of the most challenging animals to paint because of this. The carriage was a true challenge as well. Most of this painting was painted free hand, meaning I did not draw in the detail prior to painting.

The location of this painting is downtown Denver on the 16th Street Mall. The whole of 16th Street is blocked off from traffic only allowing horse and carriage or light rail. In the painting you’ll see a light rail station on the cross California Street. Center stage is the Denver Dry Goods building. A young woman is crossing the street, heading towards the AVEDA sign, suggesting a portfolio review.

This painting can be found for sale on my home site ARTbyKONNIE.com Also on Etsy, Saatchi Art, ARTYOU,  Fine Art America, and Jetsetmag.com. The original is for sale as well as giclee prints.

Considering having a favorite photo painted large in detail? I LOVE a challenge and I’m currently accepting projects for 2015. Allow several months for production time. If interested you can contact me at: konnie@ARTbyKONNIE.com.

I will be adding to this blog in the coming months more about my art as well as exploring my new venture creating jewelry with gemstones and precious metals, and how different gems have energies that can help align our own energy. You can see my jewelry on Etsy here. More on this later…

As well as my own work, I will be featuring other artists that I have close friendships with, have work I admire, or I feel need to be seen along with other creative ideas.

Until then.

•K

Please comment and follow so I know you’re out there. 

Leave a Reply

